Endowment - Christine Fellows Main Scholarship Fund

There are a number of ways that individuals can give to Saint George’s School that have a terrific impact on students’ lives.  In 2010, Dr. Elizabeth Welty, a long time friend of the school, created a scholarship in memory of her mother Christine Fellows Main.  Ms. Main was born in an era when it was uncommon for women to attend college.  Despite a number of challenges, Christine earned a master’s degree from Columbia University and eventually became a math teacher.  She was committed to education, and she passed that passion on to her children.  

Christine Fellows Main
Christine Fellows Main

Her daughter, Dr. Elizabeth Main Welty, completed a bachelor’s degree at Mount Holyoke College and then went on to receive her medical degree from Cornell University.  She believes it is important to offer young people a challenging academic curriculum.  She feels passionately about the role of good teaching and rigorous classes, two components of a Saint George’s education.  With this scholarship, she is passing her passion for education on to a fortunate student at Saint George’s.  The scholarship provides a student with full tuition, books, bus fees and field trips; it is awarded to a ninth grade student and follows that student through graduation. 

In 2015, Dr. Welty made a substantial gift to expand this endowed scholarship.  In honor of Dr. Welty's 100th birthday that year, the 2015 SGS Auction's Fund-a-Need project raised over $110,000 to extend the unique legacy and commitment to students of both Dr. Welty and her mother. 

The following individuals made generous contributions to the Christine Fellows-Main Endowed Scholarship Fund to help make a Saint George’s education available for even more
students in the future.  To learn more about the endowed scholarship fund, contact Joe.Kennedy@sgs.org.  


Mrs. Molly Bayley '63 and Mr. James Bayley
Gayle and Greg Brown
Cassandra M. Buchmann
Ms. Sarah Carlson
Mr. and Mrs. John Carter
Doug and Carol Christy
Mr. David  and Mrs. Jill Christiansen
Mr. and Mrs. Eric Cremers
Bruce Cutter
Mr. Bur Davis
Mr. Chris DeForest and Mrs. Caroline Woodwell
Mr. Rick DeFord
Mr. Brian S. Fearn '73 and Mrs. Linda H. Fearn
Jannah Garner-Archibald
Dr. and Mrs. Gerhard Muelheims
Dr. and Mrs. Gilbert Smith
Mr. and Mrs. Jim Gunn
Marc and Judy Hafso
Mr. and Mrs. Greg Henning
Mr. and Mrs. Craig Higashi
Manuel Hochheimer
Mr. and Mrs. Todd Hyde
Mr. Will Ivey and Mrs. Lisa Baird
Dr. Kurt J. Niven and Jennifer Niven Shepherd
Kathleen L. Johnson
Ms. Nancy Johnson
Dr. Trace Julsen and Dr. Vanessa C. Julsen
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Kennedy
Brad and Brigitte Kirsch
Mr. and Mrs. Paul Lennemann
Jelena Ljubisic
Mr. and Mrs. Brian Lubanski
Joshua Hayes and Lyssa Thaden
Mr. and Mrs. Earl Martin, III
Mr. and Mrs. Brant Massman
Michael McIndoe
Mr. Benjamin Milbrath
Ms. Melanie Mildrew
Mr. and Mrs. Jared Miller
Christopher and Renata Moon
Mr. Dan Morris and Mrs. Genevieve Mann Morris
Davinder and Subarna Nagra
Mr. and Ms. John F. Nord
Mr. and Mrs. LeRoy Nosbaum
Mr. and Mrs. Matt Nosbaum
Mr. and Mrs. Mark Ostersmith
Ms. Pamela Parry
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas A. Johnson
Mr. Richard Petrini
Mrs. and Mrs. Michael Poutiatine
Dr. Sajid Ravasia and Dr. Debra Ravasia
Mr. John Richardson and Ms. Denie S. Inman
Kenneth and Meghan Roberts
Mr. and Mrs. Ryan Peplinski
Mr. and Mrs. Bjorn Sande
Vernita Scheel
Mr. and Mrs. Michael Senske
Scott and Shannon Sevigny
Jeff and Christine Siems
Dr. Mark Sienko and Dr. Bernadine Bank
Mr. and Mrs. Russell Spalding
Dr. and Mrs. Taylor Reichel
Mr. Jamie and Mrs. Elizabeth Tender
Dr. Stephen Thew and Dr. Pam Kohlmeier
Dr. and Mrs. Trent Mihalick
Mr David Turplesmith and Mrs Rondi Thorp
Mrs. Margretta Voinot-Baron '73 and
     Mr. Glen Baron
Russell and Sarah Werkman
Dr. and Mrs. William Schulte
Jesse and Sara Wolff
Michael Wootton


We have prepared our donor lists for publication with a great deal of care and pride. This report reflects gifts received between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015.

We sincerely apologize if there are any omissions or misrepresentations. If we have made an error or omission, please let us know and we will correct it in this online Annual Report. If you have questions or corrections, please contact Joe Kennedy, Head of School, at 509-464-8765.